SPACE WALK #2 COMPLETED

Space Shuttle

Submitted by Arthur - N1ORC

EVA COMPLETED

Wolf, Sellers Complete Second Spacewalk at Space Station

Astronauts Piers Sellers and David Wolf concluded STS-112's second space walk at the International Space Station at 3:35 p.m. CDT (2035 GMT) today. The primary objective was to continue outfitting and activating the station's newest component, the S1 (S-One) Truss. They installed Spool Positioning Devices to prevent pressure buildup in line fittings; connected cooling system lines; and removed launch restraints from a radiator that will be deployed Sunday. They also installed a camera system on the Destiny Laboratory Module.

STS-112 Pilot Pam Melroy coordinated the spacewalk, and STS-112 Mission Specialist Sandy Magnus and NASA ISS Science Officer Peggy Whitson operated the station's robotic arm. The spacewalk lasted 6 hours, 4 minutes. The third spacewalk is slated to begin at 9:41 a.m. CDT (1441 GMT) Monday.

Prior to the start of the spacewalk, Commander Jeff Ashby and Pilot Pam Melroy fired Space Shuttle Atlantis' engines to raise orbit of the station.

N1ORC – Sun, 2002 – 10 – 13 02:00
x

Date UTC Az El Lat Lon Orbit Vis
Print
x

Select your Location

<