NASA TV Airs Return of NASA Astronaut, Two Crewmates from ISS

ISS News

Three International Space Station crew members are scheduled to depart the orbiting outpost Saturday, June 18. NASA TV will provide coverage of their preparations for departure and return to Earth beginning at 8:15 a.m. CDT tomorrow, June 17.

Expedition 47 Commander Tim Kopra of NASA, Flight Engineer Tim Peake of ESA (European Space Agency) and Soyuz Commander Yuri Malenchenko of the Russian space agency Roscosmos will undock their Soyuz TMA-19M spacecraft from the space station at 12:52 a.m. Saturday and land in Kazakhstan at 4:15 a.m. (3:12 p.m. Kazakhstan time).

Their return will wrap up 186 days in space for the crew since their launch in December 2015. Together, the Expedition 47 crew members contributed to hundreds of experiments in biology, biotechnology, physical science and Earth science aboard humanity's only orbiting laboratory.

NASA TV will air coverage of the departure and landing activities at the following dates and times:

Friday, June 17
• 8:15 a.m. -- Change of command ceremony in which Kopra hands over station command to NASA astronaut Jeff Williams
• 9:15 p.m. -- Farewell and hatch closure coverage (hatch closure scheduled for 9:35 p.m.)

Saturday, June 18
• 12:30 a.m. -- Undocking coverage (undocking scheduled for 12:52 a.m.)
• 3 a.m. -- Deorbit burn and landing coverage (deorbit burn scheduled for 3:21 a.m., with landing at 4:15 a.m.)
• 6 a.m. -- Video file of hatch closure, undocking and landing activities.
• 5 p.m. -- Video file of landing and post-landing activities and post-landing interviews with Kopra and Peake in Kazakhstan.

N5VHO – Thu, 2016 – 06 – 16 16:05

Date UTC Az El Lat Lon Orbit Vis

Select your Location


Live APRS Tracking